An Anxiety Update…

As some of you know, in particular the people closest to me, my anxiety has taken a massive turn for the worse recently. For those of you with anxiety, you will totally understand this. I’ve been struggling to leave my house, do fun things. I’ve been too anxious to even change my look a little. Dying my hair has made me anxious due to worrying what people may think.

71050871a2ee79fb02f0589c36948ac1

Up to the age of about 20, it’s safe to say I didn’t have a care in the world. I was very happy and don’t get me wrong, I am happy now. But for some reason, something triggered in my brain to make me feel as if I was unable to complete even the simplest of tasks. My anxiety can trigger from anything from travelling on public transport, to even the walking to the local shop. It is a nightmare. It’s like I am not Natalie when I am anxious.

However, Anxiety is not something I am ashamed of. Every task I complete without getting anxious or battling through my anxiety, is a huge accomplishment. But over the recent months, it’s probably safe to say it has overtaken my life. I cannot even answer the front door without panicking. I can’t explain why either. It just simply makes me panic and feel out of control.

I have battled with anxiety for 2 years now, and as much as I am proud of how I have dealt with it, it is not something I wish to continue. That’s why, I have decided in the new year, that I am not just going to put up with dealing with my anxiety…nope! I am going to do my absolute upmost to beat it. I never chose to be diagnosed with this and since it does affect me in so many ways, all I want is to not have it. I am super aware that this task isn’t going to be easy. It may take weeks or months or even years. But one thing I know for sure is it is something that I am not going to allow to beat me and bring me down.

There are little things in my life that I can cut out already to help with my anxiety. I plan to give up smoking. I want to ditch the caffeine and alcohol. I want to change my diet. All these little triggers will make a huge difference if I change them.

I want to prove that with determination and strength, that anxiety is something that CAN be overcome.

So don’t ‘Deal with Anxiety’….’Beat it!’

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I have the same diagnosis. And I also refuse to let it get me down, if I have to go to the grocery store or go shopping I will push myself to do it even if I don’t feel like it. I get panic attacks at the grocery store sometimes, I mean gosh how embarrassing right? Although I’ve learned how to deal with it and not make a scene or anything like that. So I can totally relate to your post. So don’t be ashamed of your anxiety and don’t let it get the best of you. I’ve only known about mine for about two years as well and the more I know about it the more it helps me to deal with it. If you would follow me or check out my blog I would greatly appreciate it. Either way thank you for your inspirational writings. -bel

    Like

    1. natlittleego says:

      It’s fantastic when you feel like someone can relate to you. Thank you so much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

