A Big Thank You…

Recently, I’ve been reading a number of blog posts about people who have helped other people with mental health issues, as well as coming to terms with what I’ve overcome over  8 years.

stickers-04

 

In a brief nutshell, I was in hospital for a while, battling with Anorexia and Bulimia which then lead to a whirlwind of depression, anxiety, Borderline Personality Disorder and other horrible shit. This was mixed with the pressures of a usual teenager, with exams, university and pretty much deciding on my future. Not  That’s a super quick and brief outline of what I had to deal with.

It’s safe to say that it’s been incredibly rough to get through. There were days where I wouldn’t want to get out of bed, talk to anyone. Giving up seemed like such an easy option. However, I’ve never once wanted to play the ‘victim card’. And a lot of people say it’s my personal mental strength that got me through the hell hole I was in. But I can honestly, 100% say that without certain people, I genuinely don’t think I would be close to where I am today.

I’ve come to realise that recently, I don’t value and thank the people who helped me enough. 2 simple words that mean so much….’Thank You’.

Without my 2 best friends, Julia (Miss Independent – Julia’s Blog) and Daniel, I would be completely lost. We met during college and I know that even at 2 in the morning, I can call them up and they will listen. I was going through a terrible time in college where I would skive lessons. They pushed me to get the grades I needed, stay in my job and do my best. I literally couldn’t ask for better friends. I’m so proud that they’re graduating this year!

My boyfriend has been without a doubt one of the best things that’s ever happened to meet. After meeting online nearly 2 years ago, he has completely changed my life for the better. He has so much respect for me and one thing that I matters to me most is he loves me for who I am, despite my faults. He took the time to understand my illness and now knows how to help me whenever I’m feeling super anxious, low etc. He is amazing.

My twin brother is one of the main reason’s why I am where I am. He has made me believe that with determination and strength that anything is possible. Everything he has done, has been to make sure I get better. He has never given up on me, despite all the stress I have put on our family. He’s also doing super well, which inspires me to do the same.

My mum is my main inspiration in life. Even with a heart condition and stressful job, she still manages to deal with my mental illness. She is also the most caring, selfless person I know, dedicating so much time, love and money into making peoples lives better. She has never given up on me and if I want to be like one person when I’m older, it’s definitely her.

Finally, the doctors and hospitals who have helped me get back on my feet. Without them, I clearly wouldn’t be here. It definitely took time and patience to get me the treatment I needed. My manager has given me a chance and a lot of confidence to do what I love for a living. And other people, including my boyfriends family, as well as other people I’ve met along the way, deserve a lot of recognition.

I definitely don’t say thank you enough, but I will definitely be saying it more often. This may be one of the corniest articles I’ve ever written, but it’s definitely from the heart.

Thank you to everyone who has helped me over the years to finally get to a place in my life where I can say that I am happy with my life and what I’ve achieved.

Has anyone helped you with something that you feel deserves recognition? Comment below!

TattooedDaisy x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

